hook-in weight - Hang Gliding Org - Worlds largest Hang Gliding community, discover Hang Gliding

Search

• Sorry...You must register to activate searching

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hang Gliding Org Forum Index -> Q&A, Learning to hang glide->hook-in weight
BURY this topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
paulsreef
3 thumbs up
3 thumbs up

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:04 pm    Post subject: hook-in weight Reply with quote #1   
I've been eyeing the Falcon 3 as my first glider. I weigh anywhere between 185-200lbs. I try to be at the low end during the summer motocross season. Would it be better to go with the Falcon 3 170 or 195? Their website mentions that as a beginner I would find the 170 easier to control, and my weight is at the bottom end of the 195's range, making the 195 more difficult to control. What do they consider difficult? I definitely don't want to feel out of control, I want a confidence building experience.
Send private message  Rate this post
Vanderwerf
3 thumbs up
3 thumbs up

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote #2   
I'd say 195. I weighed about the same as you when I started to fly and went with a moyes sonic 165 was heavy on it but loved it... work now as a full time tandem hang pilot... the falcon is easy to handle if you heavy or light on it. If you aero tow a bit I would maybe say go with the 170 but if you're foot launching go 195... slower launch/ landing speads... better sink rate, etc. Oh and when your at the pub you won't mind having a few more beers and a burger to end the night with.
blindrodie
2 thumbs up
2 thumbs up

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote #3   
"Control" is a relative term.

At this stage in your flying career I would be more concerned about wing loading, experience and the type of flying you will be doing most to help hone your decision.

Cool

Kansas City Hang Glider Supplies
Guggenmos E7
WW U2 145
WW F1 195 (SOLD)
FlyTec 6015